Navigate forward to access suggested results

    Why was I charged twice for a reservation?

    Before you submit a reservation request, you'll see whether your chosen payment method will place a hold (called an authorisation) or charge on your account for the amount of the reservation.

    If your payment method is authorised

    Some payment methods or locations require that the full amount of the reservation is authorised at the time of your request. If your reservation is accepted, the authorisation will turn into a real charge and the amount will be deducted from your payment account.

    If the reservation request is declined or expires, you’ll either see the authorisation disappear altogether or appear as a refund in your payment account. Depending on the processing time of your bank, the release of the authorisation may take up to 7 business days.

    If your payment method is charged

    Some payment methods or locations require that the full amount of the reservation is charged at the time of your request. If your reservation request is accepted, the charge remains and your reservation is confirmed.

    If the reservation request is declined or expires, you’ll be refunded immediately and automatically. Depending on the processing time of your bank, the refund may take up to 10 calendar days to process.

    Did you get the help you needed?