LatchgateFront door
Halcyon at Dover - a blissful stay
Hosted by Marianne
Marianne is the host.
4 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
2 private baths
4 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
2 private baths
You won’t be charged yet

Dover is 78Km from Hobart and approximately a 1hr 15min drive. It is in the central part of Dover and within walking distance to local shops and eateries and a 10 min walk to beach and access to nearby tourist attractions. Although the listing says 'entire house' the accommodation consists of two separate bedrooms upstairs. Guests are welcome to use dining area, lounge room and verandah . It has an "old-world" charm and ideal for couples, adventurers, business travellers, and small families.

The space

Choice of either 2 separate bedrooms upstairs. Kookaburra Room has Queen size bed. Kingfisher has Double bed and a sofabed. Each has a sitting area and bathroom. Both rooms have rural views to enjoy. Guests are welcome to use my living room and kitchen and BBQ facilities on the verandah.

Guest access

Guests have their own access through the front door and up the stairs. They are welcome to sit out on the verandah and enjoy the rural views or to wander around the garden. It is a short drive to Hastings Caves, Ida Bay Rail and the Tahune Airwalk and other Far South attractions.

Interaction with guests

Brochures on local tourist attractions available. Willing to help with any information on the surrounding area as well as places of interest in Tasmania.

Other things to note

I do live on the premises.


Amenities
Free parking on premises
Breakfast
Indoor fireplace

Prices
Extra people ₹1572 / night after 2 guests
Weekly Discount: 21%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed, 1 sofa bed
Bedroom 2
1 double bed, 1 sofa bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (2-12 years)
Check in is anytime after 3PM

To respect my property.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
1 night minimum stay

9 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Lynn User Profile
March 2017
Marianne made us so welcome we felt comfortable straight away. The room was great and had everything you need. Plenty of room to move around and very clean. The bathroom was lovely. Marianne was awesome, very helpful with info about the area. We had a lovely breakfast ,oh and fresh local honey. We had a great holiday and wouldn't hesitate recommending Halcyon to our friends. We will return for sure.
Marianne User Profile
Response from Marianne:
Lynn and Jack were delightful guests and welcome anytime.
March 2017

Michael User Profile
February 2017
Marianne's place was lovely, we were travelling on motorcycles and were thankful to be able to park them undercover due to bad weather. The bedroom space was cosy and comfortable. Marianne picked us fresh berries for breakfast which was a real treat.
Marianne User Profile
Response from Marianne:
It was great to have you and glad you enjoyed your stay even with the cricket excitement. Enjoy the rest of your ride. cheers Marianne
February 2017

Gemma User Profile
February 2017
This home is an amazing place to stay, with gorgeous grounds and facilities. The room was an amazing self contained room, with ensuite. The bed was comfortable, and furnishings were lovely. Would stay again.
Marianne User Profile
Response from Marianne:
Thank you Gemma> I am so glad you liked it and you are welcome anytime.
February 2017

Geoff User Profile
February 2017
This quiet and comfortable hide-away was perfect for chilling out after busy working life. Our room was pretty and comfortable and our host generous. The district is exceptionally beautiful. Highly recommended.
Marianne User Profile
Response from Marianne:
Thank you. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to relax from your busy life.
February 2017

Zoe User Profile
January 2017
Wow. I have stayed in many Airbnb's and this one was the best yet. My dad and I had an absolutely wonderful stay with Marianne. Marianne is so so lovely, it felt more like we were coming to stay with a friend we haven't seen in years. She cooked us dinner and shared her wine with us when we arrived because the eateries around were closed, and she also cooked us breakfast in the morning which was delicious. She has great tips on where to go in the area and she goes above and beyond to accommodate. The rooms upstairs are delightful and the beds are so comfortable, I really wish we could have stayed longer. Her house is huge and charming, and she has beautiful views from the deck. This place is a real treat, and very reasonably priced. If you come to Dover make sure you stay with Marianne, you won't regret it!

Anastasia User Profile
January 2017
Marianne was a naturally gracious host, welcoming us and our two children into her picturesque fairy-tale home. Our children warmed instantly to Marianne's gentle grandmotherly nature and they enjoyed her company very much. Marianne supplied us with plentiful healthy breakfasts on her wide wrap-around verandah overlooking her incredibly pretty flower garden. The rooms upstairs were decorated with beautiful country touches - fresh flowers, antique furniture, big brass beds, lamps and fine bone china tea cups. With the panelled attic roof, looking out the big windows overlooking the peaceful sheep grazing at the foot of the mountain, it felt like a beautiful storybook come to life. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and we slept very well.

Nathan User Profile
January 2017
We had a lovely stay with Marianne, she was nice to deal with and has a lovely scenic house.

Dover, AustraliaJoined in February 2016
Marianne User Profile

My working life was spent in Canberra mainly at the National Library where I was a personal secretary and then an administrative officer in Exhibitions. Fortunately in Dover I now continue my interest in exhibitions as a volunteer with the Dover Museum and Galley. I like travelling and in my early 20s travelled around the USA visiting 40 states and stayed in Fortworth Texas for 8 months as a nanny. I have travelled to Europe a few times and France is my favourite country. I am an avid gardener and roses are my passion. Tasmania was my place of birth and I love it here and why I would like to share my knowledge of it and my house and garden with others. I enjoy sailing and living close to the sea and in recent years joined a ukulele group .

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighborhood

Similar listings