Skip to content
view of living room from downstairs guest roomLiving room and den from dining room
Private room in house

Private Suite in los Feliz home

Phill User Profile

Private Suite in los Feliz home

2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1.5 private baths
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1.5 private baths
Self check-in
Easily check yourself in with the lockbox.
Sparkling clean
5 recent guests have said that this home was sparkling clean.

Private room with private bath available in a newly remodeled mid century Los Feliz home. Live in a private art gallery with art from all over the world, Shona sculptures from Zimbabwe, photography from South Africa, primative Masks from Zambia, Uganda, and Mozambique, water colors from Vietnam, oils, acrylics and Lithographs from Cuba. The Rate includes 24/7 coffee and tea bar, and self service breakfast cereal bar, free Wifi, Cable TV, Pool, and jacuzzi.


Hot tub
Cable TV

Sleeping arrangements

Bedroom 1
1 queen bed

House Rules

No smoking
No parties or events
Check-in time is 4PM - 8PM
Check out by 11AM
Self check-in with lockbox


Wide doorway to the home’s entrance
Well-lit path to entrance


86 Reviews

Ian User Profile
September 2018
Great stay in a beautiful home :)
Christine User Profile
August 2018
This isn't an ordinary airbnb. Phill's house is an experience. It is an private collection of the finest Black liberation art that I have ever seen (and I worked in the art world for a long, long time), a congress of texts that have supported the black freedom movement throughout…
Alan User Profile
August 2018
Book your stay here immediately. Great value, great spot, breathtaking house, Phill is responsive and very helpful. This was my first AirBnb trip, and any sort of anxiety or stress associated with that immediately dissipated upon stepping inside this wonderful home and communicat…
Diane User Profile
August 2018
What Airbnb host leaves their house unattended for a month while they’re out of the country? Imagine my surprise when I sent a message to the host informing him of my arrival time in LA and he replied that he was in Paris! Thus began my stay at Huxley House. I had to fumble aro…
Phill User Profile
Response from Phill:
I don’t exactly know where to start with this review. Maybe the only thing that really needs to be said is that I have been an AirBNB super host for seven years. I have hosted over 400 guests during that time and I have never received anything less than an excellent review—including guests immediately prior to and after this guest. This review reels like retaliation from the guests because she did not want to take responsibility for breaking a clothes rack in the room. Everything was fine with the reservation until I began to raise the issue because Diane broke a clothes rack and did not tell me about it. Diane checked out on August 2nd. My house keeper discovered the dislodged clothes rack on August 4th when they arrive to clean the house in preparation for the next guest. See the exchange between myself and Diane below: From Phill: Aug 4, (Phone number hidden by Airbnb) “Hey Diane, I hope you enjoyed your stay in Los Angeles. I noticed the clothing rack in the room is broken. I wish you had let me know. What happened?”: From Diane: Aug 4, (Phone number hidden by Airbnb) “Hi Phill, I enjoyed my visit to LA. I understood you would be in Europe for 2 more weeks. Sorry. I placed my carryon on the luggage rack and one side of the track pulled out of the wall and hit me on the head! (I'm fine, small bump). It appears that the unit was screwed into drywall. Diane Generally speaking, I would not be terribly upset by small things being broken. That is par for the course. I consider it ‘the cost of doing business’. The problem here is Diane never bothered to let me know that the rack was broken. I only found out when the cleaning people came in to clean two days later. As a result, rather than having two full days to fix the rack, I only had a few hours to find a handy man to come in and fix the rack before the next guest arrived. Now, to the specific issues Diane raised: My being away and self-in: I notified Diane before she arrived that I would not be home during her stay and gave her precise instructions on how to find the key (see below) Self-check-in is a common Airbnb practice. When Diane arrived, the back doors and windows were open because the other guests were home. From Phill July 31, (Phone number hidden by Airbnb) “I am in Paris. Everything is all set for you. When you get to the house. There is a key in the plastic owl in the foyer. Let yourself in. Your room is on the first floor. Turn left when you get is. Make yourself home.” From Diane July 31, (Phone number hidden by Airbnb) “Okay. Thanks!” Sent from a mobile device Leaving my house unattended for a month While it is true that I was on vacation for the month of August. It is not true I left my house unattended. I was available via cell, text, email, (Hidden by Airbnb) , and (Hidden by Airbnb) . I have a house keeper that comes in before and after each guest. I have a gardener who comes in once a week to make sure the garden is maintained. I have a pool person who cleans the pool every week. I have a co-host who comes and takes the garbage out every week. On the one hand Diane complained that the house was unattended in the next sentence she complains about the staff that attends to the house. Air Conditioning being broken: This is just not true. I have a brand new HVAC system with a nest thermostat. My house is designed to be an indoor/outdoor living environment. There are fans in every room because some guests prefer to keep the doors open instead of using the air conditioner. There is a house manual in every room with instructions on the air conditioner. It does not appear Diane read the house manual. She never requested that the air conditioner be turned on. Continental Breakfast: I have a self-serve cereal bar with both hot and cold cereals and a self-serve coffee and tea bar in the dining room. It is certainly possible that the housekeeper forgot to replenish the milk before Diane arrived. Had she let me know, I would have gladly made sure there was fresh milk in the refrigerator that day. In conclusion, on August 4th, Diane wrote “I enjoyed my visit to LA.”. She communicated no concerns during or immediately after her stay. Her complaints only arose after she broke the clothing rack in the bedroom by using it as a luggage rack. I had 8 different guests before, during, and immediately after Diane’s stay with me. None of my other guests experienced any of things Diane raised in this review. I take great pride in being a super host and providing a great experience for my guests.
August 2018
Kassidy User Profile
July 2018
The house is breezy and Phil makes sure you have everything you need to enjoy your stay. The pool is the best spot in the house :)
Matt User Profile
June 2018
Phill is a great host. The location is superb. I enjoyed a hike through Griffith Park that has a trailhead nearby. Phill was able to offer directions and a map. I was surprised and delighted by the provided breakfast that was offered. The accommodations were comfortable and the b…
Phill User Profile
Response from Phill:
Thanks Matt, I hope you get to see a Dodger game the next time you visit.
June 2018
Jason User Profile
May 2018
Phill’s home is beautiful, but also feels like home. He has gorgeous and thought-provoking art work, yet his house is also cozy and comfortable. The rooms are beyond clean, comfortable bed, and the location is perfect. Located right by Griffith Park was especially great for our…

Hosted by Phill

Los Angeles, California, United StatesJoined in October 2011
Phill User Profile
409 Reviews
I'm originally from Chicago. I moved to Los Angeles shortly after college. I've live within a 5 mile radius of my current house for over 30 years. I really love this neighborhood. I'm a pretty easy going person. I love to cook, and have dinner parties. I am the president of…
Phill supports the Living Wage Pledge
People who clean this host’s listing are paid a living wage. Learn more
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

The neighborhood

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet

Similar listings

Things to do near this home