Lovely large roomLovely large room
Lovely large room in York
Lovely large room in York
1 guest
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
1 guest
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
1 guest maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Good value accommodation in one of the UK's most beautiful and historic cities.

The space

Large, bright double room in Edwardian terraced house, close to York racecourse. We are 15 minutes walk from the city walls, 25 minutes walk from the city centre, and 5 yards from a bus stop. There is on-street parking available - although it's often quite crowded.

Along with the room listed, you'll get fresh sheets and towels, plus a wifi internet connection. We'll give you a key, so you can come and go as you please, and we try to keep the notice board in the hall up-to-date with “What's On” guides, bus time-tables, taxi numbers, and anything else we think might be useful for someone visiting York.

There's a shared bathroom, and a kitchen which we're happy for guests to use. We used to cook for guests, but don't any more - however, we do supply a range of breakfast cereals, plus tea and coffee, that you can help yourself to any time, at no extra charge.

You're very welcome to use our living-room/dining-room – apart from at meal times we don't use it that much, so feel free to watch television whenever you want.

Be warned. We have a dog (see photos). He's very gentle and very old (15 years), but only book if you're a dog-lover!

Southbank is a lovely area. Its red-brick terraces were originally built for the workers of Terry's Chocolate Factory. There's a butcher's shop over the road from us that sells hot sausage rolls and beef pies, a corner shop, and a baker's which generally has warm croissants in the morning. We're right next to York Racecourse, and 8 minutes from the beautiful River Ouse, where you can stroll along a tree-lined avenue into town.

Guest access

As well as your room, you can use the whole of the ground floor - that's the living room/dining room, kitchen and bathroom.


Amenities
Internet
Kitchen
Wireless Internet
Smoking allowed

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed

House Rules
No parties or events
Check out by 11AM

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Availability
3 nights minimum stay

39 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Jane User Profile
June 2016
Just got back home to Boston USA from a great stay in York at Mij and Dan's place. Everything was really great, the room is large, clean and private. Mij organised some cupboard and fridge space for me in the kitchen as I was staying for a month. The household is more like a home from home, chilled and laid back. Both Mij and Dan are artists too and that energy and vibe is perfect for me. Otis the dog is also very sweet and if you leave the door open he might come and visit.. very sweet. I have family nearby so the location was perfect for me.. to get into town I guess it'll take around 30 mins walking or there's buses pretty frequently. All in all for the price to stay here it's an absolute steal really.. If you're looking for a five star experience then this place is prolly not for you, but if you want to feel like you're at home with casual vibe and nice genuine people and privacy this is the place to be. I'm happy now I've found the perfect place for me when I visit York again. See you soon Mij and Dan! 3

Neil User Profile
November 2016
Really nice accommodating hosts. Room and bed was very comfortable. Very easy access to the city. Matches the description on the website very well. Thanks for letting me stay!

Roseanna User Profile
November 2016
Room was cosy, and great value for money! just what I needed as I was working just round the corner at the racecourse. Close to York in walking distance of lots of stuff so yeh perfect.

Michael User Profile
November 2016
Mij's place was perfect for me. Close to the train and bus terminals, and a colorful 15 minute walk to the inner York city. The room was just as described: big and comfortable. Mij and family and friends were very helpful, friendly, and accommodating. When I return to York, I will definitely seek to stay at her home. Price-location-comfort-friendliness-I would recommend this home for all.

Min User Profile
September 2016
I stayed at Mij beautiful room for three days, spacious and quaint room with books and drawings I liked so much. It was such a memorable three days, nice walk along the river, fallen sleep while reading books. Mij and Dan are so lovely, we had nice conversation about art, science and culture, Mij write children books, she was so kind to give me an autograph to my friend.

Fernanda User Profile
September 2016
Mij and her family live in a very nice area of York. I felt very welcomed and all were super friendly and interesting to talk to. I'd say the room is even better than how it looks in the pictures. It's large and nicely equiped with a desk, a wardrobe and plenty space for luggage and clothing. I had a good experience staying with them, thank you!

James User Profile
September 2016
Lovely hosts and lovely home. easy 20 minute walk to the centre of York with plenty of restaurants along the way, would definitely recommend for anyone wanting to visit.

York, United KingdomJoined in March 2012
Mij User Profile

Hi, I live in York with my partner Dan (a TEFL teacher) and my dog Otis (a border collie). I'm a children's author (search Mij Kelly online), which is not such a lucrative profession as you might think - hence this ad on Airbnb!

Languages: English, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day

The neighborhood

Similar listings