If you play piano or the bongos, you can practice! Those two drawers (along with a lot of closet space) are all for you. The bottom drawer also has an iron for your clothes, a separate iron for your hair, and a blow dryer. There's also now a blue pump bottle on top of the drawers that is filled with cocoa butter. ;-) And that chair to the right of the drawers has a massage seat cover! This is what it looks like when you crawl into bed. The alarm clock on the wooden nightstand also has a USB port and speaker cable for phone-charging and music-listening purposes.
Spacious, bright room in art-filled apartment!
Hosted by Amos
Amos is the host.
5 guests
1 bedroom
4 beds
1 bath
5 guests
1 bedroom
4 beds
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
5 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Our home is on the top floor of an Art Deco building just 1.5 blocks from an amazing park along the water and a leisurely 5-minute walk to the A train, the 1 train, and an express bus. You'll have access to a spacious apartment overflowing with art and light, including the kitchen (coffee/espresso included!) and a living room with two comfy couches and lots of chairs (bean-bag, rocking, bouncy ball). The bedroom is flooded with light mornings and afternoons. All backgrounds are welcome!

The space

This apartment is somehow simultaneously spacious and cozy! The bedroom can easily accommodate 4, plus more folks are welcome to use the couches or a large air mattress in the living room (just message us about that separately because the living room is a shared space). The main bed is a large futon-mattress with a memory foam cover, and the two single beds are Simmons Beauty Sleep Foldaway Guest Beds. We have lots of wonderful little secret gems hidden inside, like an espresso machine that you're free to use, a rather large art collection (long, pensive looks are free, too), and a sizeable collection of books for the fellow nerds of the world. Under the coffee table we have some games, like Connect 4 and Settler of Catan, and you're more than welcome to challenge us! We're also two blocks away from a Farmer's Market every Saturday, as well as one of the largest and best parks in all of Manhattan (where you can wander among trees so tall and lush you won't believe you're still on the island). The light in the bedroom is really something to behold, as well!

Guest access

You'll have access to the main bedroom that you see in the photos. You can keep your clothes in the two large drawers across from the bed, and there's a walk-in closet with another larger dresser if you're staying longer or just want to spread out. You'll also have full access to the kitchen, and as I've mentioned, you're free to make coffee and use the Nespresso machine. The living room is also a lovely space that I'd love for you to take advantage of! The art, the books, the desk - please enjoy it all!

Interaction with guests

I'll definitely be available to answer your questions and help you throughout your stay, even if I'm not staying there. As a high school teacher and college professor, I probably won't be here very often during the day. If I happen to be there, too, then I'll just be a small room away, and you should feel free to knock on my door or send me a text message morning, noon, and night.

Other things to note

Checking in and out is flexible! It depends a lot on our work schedule and the people who have the room reserved before and after you. So, just be in touch and we'll figure it out. Also, we are flexible in terms of how many people you have in your group. Just note that it costs a bit extra per person after two people, so let us know in advance how many people are sleeping over. Bottom line: let's talk. Also, there's a TV here, but since we're not avid watchers, we only use it to augment our movie-watching experience by plugging our computers into it. There is basic antenna-based cable for people who like to have the TV on in the background while they're chilling at home. We welcome ALL people from all backgrounds. We really mean that!We also have a washer/dryer in the basement. It's rather inexpensive; you just need to reserve your time to use it and use a special card. There are also same-day laundry services nearby that are a great deal.


Amenities

Prices
Extra people ₹1001 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee ₹667
Security Deposit ₹6675
Weekend Price ₹4339 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn More

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed, 2 single beds
Common spaces
1 couch, 1 air mattress

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
Check in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)
Self check-in with lockbox

We usually take our shoes off, but don't feel obligated. Basically, our home is your home, so the main rule is to feel comfortable - stretch your legs and take it all in!
We would also love for you to not be shy about questions! Please let us know if there's anything we can do to make your stay here more relaxing and fun!

You must also acknowledge
No parking on property - I don't own a car, but when I borrow a friend's or use ZipCar, I can usually find parking just by waiting nearby for a few minutes.
Some spaces are shared - If we happen to be there, we will also use the kitchen and bathroom. The living room is also a large, cozy place, so perhaps we can all chill there!
Amenity limitations - The wifi might but a bit weak in the bedroom. Fortunately, we actually have a few different wifis to choose from. So fret not: we will have access!

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
1 night minimum stay

5 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Antony User Profile
October 2017
Great communication with a very good value apartment. Amos was a gracious host; neighborhood had good amenities. Street parking is tough, but there are reasonably priced decks close by.

Strahinja User Profile
October 2017
Great place, a little bit out of town, but with subway it’s 25min from Manhattan! Quiet neighborhood, and Amos and Wilmary were very friendly and they have such a lovely and stylish place! All recommendations!

Charla User Profile
October 2017
Amos is such an amazing host. He is very understanding and caring. He always put my needs in the forefront of his mind. I always felt comfortable approaching him even for the smallest things. The room was very spacious, clean, and comfortable. The neighborhood was very nice and safe. He had everything that you could possibly need for your stay. And if you didn't have it he would get it. He has such a beautiful spirt. Even though I didn't get to see Wilmary often she was so nice and respectful. They went far and beyond to make me feel at home. I would book their room again in a heartbeat.

Julia User Profile
August 2017
Absolutely wonderful hosts and apartment. Many many thanks!!
Amos User Profile
Response from Amos:
Your friend Nestor was wonderful, too! Thanks to you! (:
August 2017

Kate User Profile
August 2017
This room is great! The area is lovely and easily accessible via the subway or busses. Amos was very helpful and we felt extremely welcome. If you're planning a trip to NYC I'd definitely recommend staying here!
Amos User Profile
Response from Amos:
Thank you so much! We loved having you both.
August 2017

New York, New York, United StatesJoined in February 2017
Amos User Profile

I am a New York City public school teacher. I teach 11th grade English and Theater. I love to read, ride my bike, and learn new languages. I live very simply and quietly.

Languages: English, Español, עברית
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighborhood

Similar listings