Look for the colorful building!
Skyward cafe and guest house.
Skyward cafe and guest house.
4 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 shared bath
4 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 shared bath
You won’t be charged yet

Located in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Located on the corner of Zachary Taylor Hwy and the 17 mile Crest Hill Road which is popular with cyclists and hikers alike. We are approximately 1 hour from D.C area, and are minutes to Front Royal and Luray. There are canoe and tube rentals, taking you down the Shenandoah river. Or the Caverns in Luray. Several hiking paths are also offered less than a mile from here. And of coarse, camping and many other levels of hiking nearby.

The space

Our location is perfectly situated close to all activities, wine cellars and more. Yet, quiet for sleeping with the sounds of nature.
In the private room is one full size bed and one full
Sofa bed. We also offer a single futon if needed.
Down stairs is our cafe which is open Tues-Sun. 8-4
We offer coffee, smoothies, breakfast and lunch
Our staff arrives around 7:15. So don't be alarmed if you hear chatting and cooking in the early morning hours.
NEW: I now have a new household member. Her name is Serenity (Serri for short) she is a shi-poo. She weighs about 3lbs. Very quiet and friendly. I'm told her breed is allergy free breed. So, if you don't mind pets, well, not much is different. She welcomes you as do I.

Guest access

You have access to parking, private side entrance, Full use of living area, porch, kitchen, restroom and shower. In kitchen we have coffee pot, hot water pot, small appliances & a small fridge which is provided with bottled water for you. We do not have a sink or stove in kitchen but provide paper and plastic plates and utensils. You are also welcome of course to come on down to our cafe,. ( please enter in front of building) and have your first cup of our popular local coffee on us.
We are also situated on several acres and upon request a small tent or camper may be permitted
Please only use door directly to guest house. Other doors are to our cafe kitchens.

Interaction with guests

There are 2 bedrooms in guest house one is mine, however I am out early, working in cafe. If you need anything, you can find me there. We have a friendly staff as well, so please let them know if there is something they can help with as well.
Should you need anything, one of us would be happy to help.

Other things to note

We have a private bathroom with shower. Our kitchen is equipped with small fridge, microwave, toaster oven, coffee pot, water boiler, small griddle plastic utensils and plates. We do not have a kitchen sink., or stove. We ask that you dispose of food and paper products in trash provided for you in convenient area. This is mountain country and those little critters find ways to share our space.


Amenities
Kitchen
Internet
TV
Essentials

Prices
Extra people ₹671 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee ₹1006
Security Deposit ₹6707
Weekly Discount: 10%
Weekend Price ₹5366 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed, 1 sofa bed, 1 floor mattress
Common spaces
1 couch

House Rules
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 12PM (noon) - 10PM
Check out by 11AM

We are also a cafe. Hours are 8-4. Cafe is closed Mondays. Our guest house has a coffee pot and other small appliances. We do not have a kitchen sink in guest house. Provided are plastic and paper utensils, cups and plates. Each guest will receive a free coffee card for the cafe you may use if you wish. Although the guest house has a separate entrance from the cafe, we ask that all are respectful to our kitchen staff as well as customers of cafe. The cafe does not have a liquor license, but you are welcome to bring beer, wine or whatever you desire to enjoy in the guest house. There is also a very good restaurant across the street which is open for lunch, dinner and drinks. Check out their web site for times and dates for entertainment. ( they have some great bands) Griffen Tavern.
Noted in our listing is 2 beds. Please be aware that one is a queen pullout couch.
If you smoke please do so outside or porch and discard butts in water and trash.
If you bring a pet please ask for “bags” if needed. They are welcome to do their bathroom business/ walk/run in the large grassed area out back.
There are several other doors in house. One bedroom is mine and the other doors are storage and utility. Other than those rooms, feel free to use kitchen, appliances, living room, TV , porch bathroom, shower. Towels and other amenities are provided, if there is anything else you need just ask. I probably have it. Thanks for staying with us and we hope you have a great time.

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - About 12 steps to second floor
Potential for noise - Our cafe opens at 8am. Guests have said they do not hear noise but if your a light sleeper it's possible
Pet(s) live on property - I have a 3lb Shizpoo. She is very friendly with people. Somewhat apprehensive with other dogs until she feels safe. ( not accidentally) stepped on!
No parking on property - Parking is available for bnb guests. Please park at far end of lot for cafe guests to have easy access to come in/out.
Some spaces are shared - I stay there occasionally, if I am there, I am usually in the cafe working. The bathroom would be a shared space.

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay.
From Sep 1 - Nov 30, 2017 the minimum stay is 1 night.

32 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Christie User Profile
October 2017
Julie was a great host and we loved that her place was dog-friendly and close to many amazing hikes. While here, you must eat at Skyward Cafe downstairs!

Suzanne L. User Profile
October 2017
What a delightful spot to sit and savor the delicious coffee served in the cafe. The smells and sounds of the cafe drew me downstairs early to enjoy my complimentary coffee and order a very tasty breakfast. I would return to this space for the ease, comfort, and hospitality provided. The views and weather could not have been better.

Virginia User Profile
October 2017
Julia's place was exactly as advertised! For us, it was a great place to spend the night on our way to a college visit in VA. Very simple and quaint accommodation. I wish we would have had the time to eat in her café downstairs. The drinks and snacks provided in the apt. were an appreciated touch and the sheets were nice quality. Thanks, Julie

Tyler User Profile
October 2017
Loved it, it was just what we needed for the night after spending the last few days hiking in the park. Already planning our next stay here!

Amanda User Profile
October 2017
My boyfriend and I spent the long weekend at Julie's airbnb, and it was perfect. The place and the hospitality were beyond our expectations. We LOVED the front porch - and really the whole place. There's a lot of little details around the apartment (and the cafe) to make the atmosphere feel warm and welcoming :) It was the perfect location for going to hikes in/around Shenandoah - about a 20-30 minutes drive gets you to some great trail heads, and only about 15-20 minutes to get to the Shenandoah Thornton Gap park entrance (just past mile marker 31). It was the perfect combo of a little R&R meets outdoor hiking adventure. Definitely hope to come back again soon! :)
Julie User ProfileJulie is a superhost.
Response from Julie:
Thanks Amanda, for that wonderful response. Seriously, it’s people like two that make doing this Airbnb a real pleasure!
October 2017

Laura User Profile
October 2017
Julie was very welcoming and the accommodations were perfect for our weekend getaway. The space was adorable and had everything we needed. Loved sitting on the porch! Great location and enjoyed the pub across the street.

Christopher User Profile
September 2017
Julie wasn't able to be there for us but she took care of everything and we were all set when we arrived. Great experience! Walkable to a local bar and breakfast downstairs was great too. Good launching point for cycling.

Ocean City, New Jersey, United StatesJoined in May 2015
Julie User ProfileJulie is a superhost.

An adventurer and explorer. Want to see the world!! My husband and I have used airbnb several times. And now we are HOSTING!!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighborhood

Similar listings