Beautiful Cottage by the Coast
Beautiful Cottage by the Coast
6 guests
3 bedrooms
4 beds
1.5 baths
6 guests
3 bedrooms
4 beds
1.5 baths
You won’t be charged yet

Charming, spacious, sunny and warm, welcome to our lovely character cottage in the countryside. Nestled in the Isle of Wight's famous southern coastline with great access to the coastal walks and stunning local scenery.

The space

Me and my family love this cottage, we bought it as a renovation project about 5 years ago and it was our family home but since moving away we now use it as our holiday home as well as letting it to guests. We hope you will enjoy it as much as we do, we love the sounds of the wildlife in the sunny south facing garden and the peaceful feel of the location, as well as the cosy nights in front of the wood burners in the winter. As its our holiday home its pretty well equipped and has a very homely feel, you will find a fair amount of hand made furniture and items from around the world that we have collected from our travels. For rainy days there is Amazon Prime and Netflix available for a cosy day in.

Myself, I've been running holiday lets on AirBnB for some time and hosted many happy guests, I love hosting and am always in contact to make sure everything is perfect, though usually don't get to meet guests as I live on the mainland now.

Guest access

You will have the whole house to yourself, including the garden.

Guests can enter by typing a code into the keypad we have on the front door. I will give details when booking is finalised.

Interaction with guests

I'm not local to the house but I am very hands on when it comes to being there for my guests. I'm available on the phone 24/7 if needs be and happy to give any help or advice that will help guests have the best possible holiday.

Other things to note

There is a parking space in a lay-by across the road which belongs to us. This is for guest use but please bear in mind you will need to cross the road to enter the house. Ours is the layby directly opposite the house.

Business travel
This listing has essential business travel amenities.

Wireless Internet

Cleaning Fee ₹2651
Security Deposit ₹8835
Weekly Discount: 15%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed
Bedroom 2
1 double bed
Bedroom 3
1 bunk bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 4PM
Check out by 11AM
Self check-in with smart lock

Family groups only, no bookings of same sex groups, stag/hen groups, parties or third party bookings. Maximum of 4 adults & 2 Children. Over-occupancy charge of £100 per night per person applies. Any non family type bookings or groups containing more than 4 adults please contact us first as instant bookings made by non-family type groups may be cancelled.

Profile picture must be a reasonable representation of the person booking and details of accompanying guests must be given and must be accurate.

Smoking in the garden only please, no smoking in the house.

Guests are required to put their rubbish in the wheelie bins and to ensure these bins are out for collection on collection day.

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - 1 flight of stairs to climb to get to all 3 bedrooms


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Fire extinguisher

2 nights minimum stay

20 Reviews

Check In
Sam User Profile
October 2017
We had a brilliant 4 days in Pete's Cottage. The house was lovely, we enjoyed some of the quirky and homemade touches. Great space and have everything we needed. Our toddler had a brilliant time, very helpful to have a travel cot and stair gates, a few toys and kids crockery. The garden looked ideal, although it was pretty wet and windy so we didn't use it much. Location was great for exploring the beautiful coastline. Would thoroughly recommend a break here.

Chris User Profile
September 2017
A lovely cosy cottage which is conveniently located for visiting some of the best parts of the IOW. We enjoyed relaxing in front of the wood-burner each evening.

Benedikt User Profile
September 2017
Everything good ;)

Eléni User Profile
August 2017
It is a gorgeous house, a real home from home. It has everything you need a little bit more. Pete is great at communicating, so any questions, just email and he'll get straight back to you. Very close to Blackgang Chine, which is great! Be aware, it is on a road where cars drive quite fast and the parking spot is on the other side of the road, but it's not like there's lots of cars going past so as long as you use the mirror and common sense, all should be fine - just might not be suitable for anyone who's a bit anxious about that sort of thing (e.g. Elderly or those with very young children)

Jackie User Profile
August 2017
Peter's communication skills were excellent, he replied promptly to emails. However unfortunately we had to communicate rather a lot during our stay due to problems encountered. We were not able to check in till 6:30 rather than 4pm, due to the house not being ready (still being cleaned) which meant that we were forced to eat out on the first evening causing us unnecessary expense. The cleaner also asked us to finish off the laundry (removing items from the tumble dryer) which she was unable to finish in time and clearly had to rush her cleaning as there were food crumbs in the living room. The drains in the kitchen sink and bathroom weren't working properly. My husband had to sort out the kitchen sink problem with some drain equipment that had been left at the property - the welcome pack explained how to resolve the problem, so it was a known problem that had not been communicated in advance. The shower was draining very slowly resulting in standing in an inch of water whilst showering, however Pete did not want to resolve the problem over our weekend stay due to expensive call out charges. Whilst well equipped, the standard of the accommodation didn't feel great - I would describe it as 3 star. The house has been self renovated but has not reached the state of finishing off details leaving the house feeling quite down at heel (e.g. cracks in ceilings, old pipes hanging out of walls, bathroom needs grouting). Would have been helpful if this had been described in the listing. Beds were comfy and the location of the property suited us. It is in a spectacular part of the Isle of Wight, although don't expect to be able to see any views from the cottage. So whilst Pete communicated well, we didn't feel he was responsive to resolving problems or offering recompense, and generally we were quite disappointed with the property.
Pete User Profile
Response from Pete:
Thank you for your feedback, I’m sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay as much as others have, when we spoke I had no idea you were disappointed but now I know I will contact you again to arrange a refund. I appreciate the feedback about the cleaner and have now hired a new company to handle the changeovers and will be keeping a close eye on their performance. The drains are old and we have had trouble with guests pouring coffee grinds down the sink and blocking it so we left the drain clearer and instructions for future guests in case it happens again. The cleaner was tasked with checking the sink and shower drain sufficiently on each changeover though so you should not have found any trouble when you arrived and I reiterate my apology for having to have dynoRod disturb you. I’m also very sorry to hear you didn’t like the house, you are quite right it is a DIY project and a lot of the décor and furniture is handmade from reclaimed materials, we don’t much like perfection we prefer character and charm and love the fabric of this old cottage. The old lath and plaster ceiling is indeed cracked in places, but is freshly painted, along with the rest of the house which we decorated in April. I’m quite confused about your comment about the grouting though as the bathroom was newly tiled and grouted this year, unless you mean the natural slate by the bath but this is not supposed to be grouted at all. There are large copper pipes visible as you say, they connect to the woodburner in the lounge, we quite like them as well as the other cottage features but we appreciate this kind of rustic character is not to everybody's taste. We try to show these features in the pictures in the listing and describe that it used to be our family home that we renovated ourselves, perhaps it’s not clear enough and I will review it now.
August 2017

Nic User Profile
August 2017
Pete's house is perfect for a break on the island. Two pubs not far away do great food if not the kitchen is great to russle up something yourself. I would not hesitate to stay again

Anna User Profile
August 2017
Lovely cottage with plenty of space inside and a great garden. The cottage was well equipped and in a quiet location surrounded by lovely countryside. We didn't get to meet Pete but he kept in touch throughout. Thank you.

This host has 142 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Newport, United KingdomJoined in March 2015
Pete User Profile
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighborhood

Similar listings