Deck attached to house, accessible from living room & kitchenMagnificent cedar at front of house
3 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
1 bath
3 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Close to Russian River, endless wineries, canoe rentals, gorgeous Sonoma coast beaches, Santa Rosa airport, fabulous bakery in downtown Forestville and a few restaurants, plus several miles of off-road bike trails through West County (& bike rentals nearby). Lush privacy, cozy cabin feeling, inviting outdoor decks, quiet neighborhood, and walk to the river.

The space

From within the house, you cannot see the surrounding houses much at all, and from the street, outsiders cannot see into the house. It is very private. You feel like you're in the middle of the woods, without the gloom. I strive to live as sustainably as possible. 9 solar panels provide enough for my electrical needs, including my electric car. I have installed an EV Level 2 charger in the carport, which you are welcome to use. I compost everything and grow lots of vegetables in the summer. Many fresh herbs are available to harvest year-round.

Guest access

You can make yourself at home, as if the whole property is yours. I'll need to work in the yard most days. If it will bother you that you see me in the yard, please discuss this with me when you arrive.

Interaction with guests

I live downstairs, so I am around a fair amount. Feel free to bother me with any questions or needs. During gardening season (= pretty much anytime it isn't cold or raining), there's almost always something I need to do in the yard. You'll see why when you're here. It's constant maintenance. Most of the yard is not visible from the house, so my presence won't violate your privacy unless you are outside on the decks, but please alert me if you want total privacy and don't want to see me gardening outside. I can accommodate your schedule.

Other things to note

The upstairs is my home, so it doesn't feel like a rental, since I still use the upstairs when there are no guests. My cats will likely try to invite themselves in when you are here, since it used to be their home, but I make them sleep downstairs with me all the time now; please don't let them inside since the upstairs is currently cat-free for guests with allergies. You're welcome to socialize with them, but please do so outside, otherwise they'll take advantage of your kindness and my next guests might be sneezing.

The TV is only for movie watching. There is no reception of regular TV shows.

This place is actually 2.5 bedrooms. The front room can offer bedroom-like privacy, but it's tiny, plus very chilly in the winter months. Comfortable in the night only from May-September. There is a space heater for that room, but it can't compete with the cold November-February. About beds -- actually there are 4 potential sleeping spots: master bedroom (queen), little bedroom (twin), front room futon (twin) & sofa bed in the living room (full/queen?).

IF YOU HAVE TODDLERS: I wish Airbnb would provide a category for hosts to choose against them. I don't mind kids over 5 years old, but guests that have stayed here with toddlers have not worked out well for me. I really don't want little ones running around my home. There's lots that can be readily destroyed by wild little hands & feet.


Amenities
Kitchen
Indoor fireplace

Prices
Cleaning Fee ₹1338
Weekly Discount: 18%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 single bed
Common spaces
1 sofa bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in time is 3PM - 10PM
Check out by 11AM

- Please no shoes on carpeted floors; other house suggestions provided upon arrival (not rules so much as how to live in an old river cabin that has some quirks)
- Parking is limited: only one car can fit directly in garage (if your car is small enough). Additional cars need to park around the corner
-Please don't ask where you can smoke when you arrive. Next time I will have the courage to just say no. Please don't choose my place if you are smokers.
- I teach Mon-Thurs mid-August through end of May, so it is very hard for me to prepare the place for incoming guests on weekdays, so I have blocked them out in my spring & fall calendar, not because they are booked. If you would like to stay a whole week at a time when weekdays are blocked out on my calendar, please contact me and I can probably make those additional days available for you.

You must also acknowledge
Cat(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

40 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Tim User Profile
October 2017
Highly recommend for both value and nice home for a group. Carla is the perfect host.

Ivan & Shannon User Profile
October 2017
Carla has such a lovely garden home. It feels secluded and yet is so close to Forestville downtown, wineries, Guerneville, etc. There was a queen bed, a single bed, and a single cot, all in 3 separate rooms. One bathroom. Her home accommodated the 3 of us perfectly. We sat out on the lovely balcony, enjoyed her fun selection of movies... even played the piano some! It was a great time and Carla couldn't have been a nicer host, more welcoming host. We would definitely return.

Ellen User Profile
September 2017
Charming home. Scrupulously clean. Carla was very flexible & accommodating of some scheduling issues on our end. Kitchen is well-stocked with basics.

Kim User Profile
September 2017
This is a lovely, comfortable home. Carla provided many extras. It is very clean and unique. The deck over looking an area filled with plantings and trees was a relaxing place to sit.

Marta User Profile
September 2017
Tucked away in Forestville, Carla provides a clean, cozy and inviting rural getaway, tucked into quaint tree and flower filled Mirabel Park area of Forestville. Within 30 minutes of both Guerneville and Sabastapol, it has easy access to the Russian River, great restauratnts and Armstrong Woods. It has a perfectly appointed kitchen with every detail considered. A great value and a kind host... a perfect combination. Thank you, Carla!

Isabel User Profile
September 2017
We loved staying at Carla's place! She is a warm and super helpful host, and the upstairs of her home is beautiful and spacious. It is much larger than I even expected! I did not want to leave!

Katarina User Profile
September 2017
Don't worry about packing much for your stay here--Carla, a fantastic host, stocks a full bathroom and kitchen, with plenty of towels, blankets, and cooking spices, materials, teas, coffee, and even some food. There were fresh, local eggs and pears in the fridge for us, along with popcorn and snacks in the cabinets. She also has games and some outdoor sporting equipment available for use, if you're interested. And if that wasn't enough, she provides extra touches all over, such as the tea candles and incense in the bathroom or the lights that she strung around the deck for when you're outside at night. In terms of the house, there are up to four beds. The master bedroom with a queen bed (I believe), the guest bedroom with a twin bed, a room next to the entryway with a twin-size padded mattress set-up, and the futon couch in the living room. The bathroom shower has good water pressure and temperature, and the bathtub has jacuzzi jets if you wanted to soak for a while. The kitchen is fully-equipped, but it is a bit on the narrow side, so don't plan on having more than one or two chefs doing any cooking at once. The deck is a wrap-around with two sliding door entrances, one of which is along a walkway to the detached garage (fits one car only). And the backyard is amazing--it's large and full of all sorts of fruits, herbs, flowers, trees, and vegetables. We spent a good hour or so just walking through the garden and admiring everything. One area contains much of the outdoor equipment I mentioned, while another area is an enclosed patio with wine barrel chairs. While there were only a couple of roses in bloom, I imagine it's quite something to sit in those chairs surrounded by the roses that grow around the patio. There was even a rabbit (in a penned area), which just made it even more magical. The one piece of advice I would give is to be extra careful if you're driving to or from the house at night. There aren't any streetlights in the neighborhood or along River Road (the main thoroughfare and a single lane road going each way with a speed limit of 45 mph), so you really have to watch for the turnoff. I used (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN) Maps the whole time and found that the directions were pretty accurate up until you approach the house. (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN) Maps will tell you you've arrived maybe 3-4 houses too early, so make sure to drive to the end of the street before it veers right. And that's it. Carla is very prompt in responding to communications and is flexible at arranging the check-in procedure (she lives in the unit below the house, so she can also give immediate help if something unexpected arises). She told us that she had a couple who regularly stayed at the house the night before us. After staying there, I understand why she has...

Forestville, California, United StatesJoined in March 2014
Carla User ProfileCarla is a superhost.

Photo is at Cliffs of Moher, west coast of Ireland! I loved Ireland. Also traveled in Hungary in 2010 and loved that country as much. Also traveled in Sri Lanka in January '14, then traveled in India end of January-May 2014 with a brief side-trip to Nepal. Then to Israel, France, and Spain before returning to the US at end of June. I am a college professor of Philosophy & Religion at Santa Rosa Junior College, and was traveling on sabbatical leave for one semester. Before my daughter was born many years ago I lived in Japan and Thailand. I did all my graduate work at the University of Hawaii. Born & raised in Berkeley in the 60's. Now very much at home in Sonoma County, I love my little river cabin 2 blocks from the Russian River, where I live with two cats and lots of trees and organic garden. I am now opening my house to you all. Come see lovely Sonoma County! It's paradise up here!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighborhood

Similar listings