Skip to content
uplifting...
3 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 shared bath
3 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 shared bath
You won’t be charged yet

This Open & Airy BnB is in a peaceful, yet vibrant and eclectic, NYC/NJ hybrid suburb. 12 mi. from NYC (about 20 mins.). The train and bus to NYC are a 2 and 1 min walk respectively! We’re 18 mi from Newark International Airport. It is a lovely place to set-up camp for excursions to the city;wonderful to return to this Open & Airy get-away to recharge with friendly faces. Enjoy the beach 1-2 hr away, mountain hikes, biking and bouldering!Can add a comfy queen air mattress if needed. Contact me

The space

Welcome! Come in and relax from your travels! This room is on the 3rd floor of a Victorian Center-hall Colonial. Don't let it fool you though; it has the old details, but is light spacious and airy! I hope staying here lifts your spirits.
The space has a twin bed and the possibility of adding a queen or twin air mattress if needed. We even have a portable crib. There is a desk to get some work or studying done and a chair to kick back with one of our selections of tea and enjoy a book from our library. Your micro, desk-top fridge, holds the equivalent of 6 cans of soda.
The closet has plenty of space and wooden hangers. Towels, shampoo, soap, even epsom-salt & bubble bath, if you choose to soak in the deep clawfoot tub (with handheld shower spray), is available. There is also a lovely shower downstairs, that is available depending upon occupancy. Your standard access is to the old-fashioned clawfoot tub with handheld spray (seen in pic). If you think you have forgotten something, ask, we may have it and at worse, there is a store just around the corner!
The kitchen is not part of guest access, but though I don't publicize it, many mornings you will find a little something downstairs to get your day going. "If you play...enjoy our Steinway" - (cheesy rhymes free!). If you need something to do, look in our hall bookcase that has guide/nature books to keep you busy. Someone is almost always around, so if you need directions or suggestions, just ask and we will try to assist you! We look forward to your visit! :)

Guest access

Other than your room and bathroom (which is usually private, but shared if there is another guest that day), you have access to the living room, respectful use of the Steinway piano from 10am-9pm, the porch and backyard. Kitchen & appliances are not available for guest use. Occasionally we have a fire on chilly evenings and on some dry Fall and Spring evenings, we light up the fire-pit!

Interaction with guests

We are almost never too far away, if you have questions... We speak several languages poorly, but it might help! (Norwegian, Spanish, French and Mandarin) :) We are Vegan Friendly and if you have any other special dietary concerns or preferences, let us know ahead, at the time of booking your reservation and we will do our best to accommodate them!

Other things to note

We have a small "hypo-allergenic" dog that is well behaved and stays from time-to-time. If this is a problem, mention it to me before you make your reservation and we will see if we can work something out. :)
There is no overnight street parking. You are welcome to park in our single lane driveway overnight. In the evening we can arrange cars so everyone can get out properly in the morning.
The area is very child friendly. If you are traveling with children contact me and we can determine, whether, it is a good fit for you.

Try our other listings:

The Bird Room

http://abnb.me/EVmg/svRIfPlgvE

The Zen Oasis:

http://abnb.me/EVmg/ak2pJIIgvE

Amenities
Free parking on premises
Wireless Internet
Iron
Laptop friendly workspace
Prices
Extra people ₹1660 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee ₹1660
Security Deposit ₹19920
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed, 1 air mattress, 1 crib
House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check-in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

- - This listing is suitable for 8-12 year olds. You can contact me with any other questions regarding children or infants. - No smoking anywhere on premises please. - This room is on the third floor. - Sometimes we have a very friendly "hypo-allergenic" dog guest. If this is a problem, let us know before booking. You are welcome to respectfully use our Steinway piano (Playing hours 10am-9pm) in the living room or borrow a book in your room library! - Please use the hot water kettle only for water and the micro fridge for storing food items. - There are recycling receptacles in the hall on the third floor available for your use. Glass, cans and plastics (marked #1 or#2 only), should be rinsed out and recycled. Please dispose of "food" garbage downstairs in the kitchen as well. I have a mega water purifier and am happy to refill the water pitcher provided in your room. The amenities are only those listed, use of the kitchen is not included. No guests please. - Parking for 1 car. - There is a small desk "micro" fridge in room.

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) live in the house
Cancellations
Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door
Availability
On Fridays and Saturdays the minimum stay is 2 nights.

41 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Ammar User Profile
November 2017
To all the people who end up staying at Adrienne's, this is what you can expect: - An extremely comfortable stay - A very thoughtful and personable host who bakes delicious goodies. - A beautiful home in a great location.
Adrienne User Profile
Response from Adrienne:
Thank you so much Ammar. I genuinely look forward to seeing you both again. The pleasure was completely mine!
November 2017

Amna User Profile
October 2017
Adrienne is an amazing host!!!!! She is personable, friendly, and great for conversations. Furthermore,she goes above an beyond for her guests. The room had water, a kettle, tea and coffee bedside. She also has home baked cookies downstair which are to die for. Her coffee tastes amazing! Her place is beautifully decorated and was very clean. You could not ask for a better host!!! I highly recommend... If you are thinking about booking, don't think.. Just book! <3

Nancy User Profile
October 2017
Adrienne is a warm, welcoming host with an artist's eye and a true sense of hospitality. A clean, accommodating home with many thoughtful touches including snacks in the room, a mint on the nightstand, fresh coffee on the buffet in the morning and a wonderful breakfast that kept me going the whole drive home. Thank you Adrienne - it was a pleasure :)

Sarah User Profile
October 2017
Adrienne was a wonderful host who went above and beyond. The room matched the listing, and I would highly recommend staying with Adrienne if you, like me, are looking for a quiet place to stay with an easy train commute to Manhattan.

Rosie User Profile
October 2017
Adrienne went over board on the details and little touches to make this trip memorable. I will definitely come back to stay here again and I would definitely recommend her to my friends and family.

Kristin User Profile
October 2017
Adrienne's place is lovely and one could not ask for a better host! She is an amazing, kind, thoughtful person. Her home is lovely and the accommodation is just as described - with a number of thoughtful touches to make you feel at home. Public transit into New York was close, easy and fast. If New York City's your daytime destination, as it was mine, Adrienne's place suits perfectly. I will certainly return!

Henry User Profile
September 2017
Nice

Montclair, New Jersey, United StatesJoined in September 2016
Adrienne User Profile

I love doing things outside, especially in good weather, hiking, mountain biking, bouldering, etc. Traveling is a great way to meet new people and experience different cultures. I always end up realizing, that it is such a small thread that separates us from each other’s cultures...

Languages: Dansk, Norsk, Svenska
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighborhood

Similar listings