Walk to falls. Gold Room
Hosted by Joe
Joe is the host.
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
You won’t be charged yet

7 minute walk to the Falls, & everything you want to see in Niagara, best restaurants, rainbow bridge & Canada. Ground floor room. Complimentary lite breakfast, welcome plate, and bottles of waters Hidden bathroom. Secret passageways. Quirky home closest to everything. This was an abandoned house that we are restoring. Living museum full of antiques and modern amenities. Please note we are renovating. It is quirky, old and we like it that way. If you want clinical modern, please book a hotel. :)

The space

This house is one of the oldest houses in Niagara Falls. You have the original master's bedroom on ground floor with a hidden secret bathroom nearby. This is a home being historically registered for its significance to 1865. Please visit and enjoy. It is like living in a time warp. We are constantly fixing her up.

Guest access

The bathroom downstairs, the dining room and the lounge. Front verandah. Your bedroom is lovely. This is our home. Please do not explore areas not shown to you or areas we tell you are private. If you need something, just ask, please do not go through our cabinets, drawers or into our private areas of the house. etc.

Interaction with guests

We are around as this is our home but we ensure your privacy

Other things to note

This house is like a living museum filled with history and hidden doors. We are still restoring her leaving layers of history for you to see. The house is built in 1860. It's filled with antiques and local history.
We have security system to protect our valuables and privacy.
Your room is the original masters bedroom.
This home is being restored in a quirky manner. No activities disturb our guests, but you may find things change while you are out at the falls. :)
We are renovating. It is a mammoth task.

Free parking on premises
Wireless Internet

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 4PM - 9PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

This makes us feel like the fun police. However.........
We ask you respect this beautiful old house as she is uncovered again. Enjoy your stay as that is our primary goal. The Niagara falls experience is awesome. Our house is fascinating. See things as they are. Airbnb only cover hosts for what is listed in rules.

Niagara falls USA is very poor. This is not our fault. Do not blame us for this.

We are renovating and it is in the descriptions on Airbnb. We do not disturb guests and only work when no one is here.

We do not accept third party bookings nor check in guests of a room separately. Guests must arrive and be greeted together.

Check in is between 4-9pm and check out is before 12pm.
We can not accept arrivals at all after 10pm
You can come and go as you please, but must not disturb others between 10pm-7am

Additional Services

Early/late arrival and late departures can sometimes be facilitated as can left luggage. $15

We provide a complimentary lite breakfast. It is NOT a take out buffet.
For breakfast in the dining room please remember to tell us by 9 pm the night so we know to set a place for you at the table. Unfortunately if you don't tell us, then we presume you wont be eating.

Breakfast available 8-9.30 am
This isn’t a hotel. Its just us sharing our home.

We can pick up/ drop off when arranged.
BUF or IAG Airports/ Buffalo bus/train Niagara AMRACK (because it is notoriously late) pick up / drop off. And Lockport $75
Fort Niagara $100 one way
The falls/Helicopter/ aquarium/local restaurants $20 each way
Whirl pool or Devils Hole/Amtrack $35 p couple each way

5pm-9pm add $20
9pm-8am add $50

We are happy to offer this additional service. You can of course use public transport or taxi. There is no Uber

Extra Services such as Airport pickups, early arrival or left luggage, must be arranged prior to arrival and fees must be paid before departure. If we have to go through Airbnb resolution and escalate it beyond a request,and fight for what you have agreed to pay, we will double the fee, as we we have better things to do, after providing a service to help make your stay more enjoyable.

Lost key replacement =$20
Do not use dead bolt on front door.
Ensure you lock the front door at all times

No candles, incense, drugs, extra guests, party, illegal activities or smoking on property.

You have access to your room and the ground floor front parlour and dining room, the front verandah and lower bathroom.

The bathroom is a secret room which we need to show you or else you won't be able to find.

Do not eat in the bed.

Linen, furniture and rugs must be returned in the same clean, unstained, undamaged manner in which you found them. $30 cleaning fee will apply to anything marked.
Parking is offered. Ensure you park so other guests can access their car spot as well.

Do not run, rush, thump through the house or chuck yourself onto the furniture.
DO NOT damage walls or furniture with your luggage.

Throughout the house you will find our personal affects. So, If it looks delicate or old, please treat it carefully.
Do not move our furniture around. It is not necessary.

If you feel the urge to use, what is obviously a displayed antique or artifact or use 200 year old furniture in a manner harsher than an 1800's gentile lady, then we take it that you understand implicitly that you are agreeing to replace any item damaged at full replacement cost via the AIRBNB resolution centre prior to departure.
( we understand normal wear and tear of everyday items such as crockery and glasses provided.)

If you break or spill something then tell us immediately.

Do not help yourself to our alcohol, nor go through our liquor cabinet. Nor help yourself to our food in our area of the house. - We will seriously ask you to leave.

The floors are the ORIGINAL 1860’s hardwood with genuine graining or painted borders with raw wood in the middle of most rooms and front entrance. This is NOT modern tough polyurethane and none of us can create patina. We like being able to see the lines of their rugs and front door mat.

**Do not book here if you can not carry your luggage.**

Do NOT open any hatches or flooring, just because you think you can. Failure to comply will result in immediate removal from our home!

Your room does not have a key. We live here.

Do not explore what has not been shown to you. You are not allowed into our personal private areas under any circumstances and will be asked to leave our home immediately if you ignore this request. These areas are alarmed.
Do not let new guests in or anyone into our home.

Be considerate of others coming after you in the bathroom by wiping away your hair and putting rubbish in the bin.
Boys…… seat down please.

Please message this Code to show you at least glanced and understood house rules. 7899.


137 Reviews

Check In
Umesh User Profile
June 2017
The house is beautiful and the hosts are lovely. It's close to 3rd Street which is the restaurant street. Also falls are really at a walkable distance . you will enjoy your stay there.
Joe User Profile
Response from Joe:
Umesh, thank you for staying and your kind review. We are truly glad you enjoyed yourselves here. Tell your friends and come again. :))
June 2017

Jayashree User Profile
May 2017
This place is closeby to Niagara, dont prefer to walk as it is not safe 1) streets are not safe during the day and night 2) In worst case if you happen to call owner for any pickup(urgent) be ready to respond for extra payment from owners. She will definately charge extra for pickup which is not economic price. do not wish to take transport if it is delayed chek-in as she charges close to triple the amount what taxis charge. Taxis might as cash so have some cash if you do not have your own transport. 3) Even if you have your own transport, I am not sure if walking to door from the car parked if it is safe. we could see people drunk on the street and screaming at us on top of their voices, God knows if they want to point us. we stayed here with lot of restrictions which is not prefered during vacation(where you would want to live your life) 1) Rooms lock is not available, when asked owner mentioned that it is listed website but it is not safe stay as they have one more room of airbnb in the same house including owner 2) Rooms are not cleaned everyday 3) we were eating breakfast and without informing us she started clearing the breakfast. 4) Owner charges undue claims, without any proofs and the charges are extreme. 5) plan your budget, though it is cheap to stay here but additional charges for any undue claims without any evidences would double your stay price or triple your stay price. 6) Bathroom door is heavy and door is actually a cabinet full if stuff inside and there are big big objects on top if cabinet door which might fall any time on you when pull or might fall on the floor when oush from inside. if something falls down or breaks without any mistakes from yourside you would definately get charged beaware of this. Door is heavy kids cannot pull or push the door by themselves. 7) There is not lock to the bed room door, and bedroom door can be unlocked from outside anytime by others who dines there as it is close to dining hall. there is no privacy here and kids can anytime access the door. 8) beaware of accessing anything here other than your bed room door, bath room door ,flush, shower and sink tab which may lead to undue claims without any proofs, which you cannot resolve once your leave the place and you dont want to go there and personally solve it and repair cost is high, i am sure no one wants to pay extra for repairing furniture which you havent broken it for which der is no proof with the owner and no proper receits for repair cost. 9) With so many restrictions in stay here, while checking out though she knew when we checked-out(time as well), she the owner didnt talk about any additional cost for...
Joe User Profile
Response from Joe:
Thanks Jayashree for taking so much time to outline your concerns. Its extremely clear you never read what you were booking, which is why we ask guest to provide the code. Then its obvious that you know our house is 160 years old, being restored, is like a living museum, and that we do indeed live here with our personal belongings. This is not a hotel. Let us address some issues. Firstly as we clearly explained to you, we don't accept midnight checkins but you had ignored that and already booked, so we yielded ( our mistake) and picked you up from the airport at that time. Again we did inform you that there is no UBER, but there are taxis or us. You chose us to pick you up. And you also chose us to drive you back to airport when you checked out. The fares for this and all extra services are clearly outlined in the house rules, before you book. So there is no surprise that you were charged. We charge what we feel its worth for us to be out of bed at 1 am, waiting in a car park, when we both have to be up very early every day to look after breakfast and everyday commitments. It is totally up to all guests as to whether they wish to use us, or a taxi, or shuttle bus. At the end of the day, we arent a taxi service. It is an extra service, that guests choose to take up as they feel it makes their trip more relaxed and hassle free. I'm sorry that you were scared of Niagara Falls. Again we do mention that Niagara Falls is exceptionally poor. This is not our fault. We are part of a wave of new residents empowering and moving the city forward. In regard to you worrying about walking from your car, you didn't have one, remember, we picked you up from the airport. You are correct we do not have locks on every bedroom door, as we are sourcing the original keys for our old doors, and as this is our home and we are here, with security cameras in all public areas, nothing is going to happen to your room. Those very cameras, are what alerted us to you breaking into our black cabinet in the front parlour, and helping yourself to our wine, uninvited, and then leaving the sherry glasses (definitely not offered for use) in your bedroom. As you are aware, Airbnb were provided with these photos, when we claimed the broken lock, because it is an antique cabinet, that used to , until you broke it, have a hidden spring lock that worked. Apparently the only thing our guests need to worry about - is guests like you. which is why we have those pesky cameras. We find it sad that we need to point out again that this is our home, like most Airbnb's, everything is someone's prized possessions. It is infrequent, that we find a guest rude enough to go through our private drawers, or cabinets. For the life of me, it leaves me baffled. Just one example. In one of those little cupboards is a tea cup collection worth about a thousand dollars. And yes, I do put them out for use, and I do drink from a different one every single day. They are my joy. Why on earth would you be risking opening up my cupboards and rummaging through something like that?? Again 99 percent of guests, would not even think about it. If they needed or wanted something, they would just ask. Politeness and etiquette are not restrictions unless you have none! You also seem very concerned about children. You didn't have any, we don't have any young ones, and we actually clearly indicate that because of the type of home, filled with irreplaceable antiques, and silverware, let alone a 150 year old organ, that we do not in fact allow children as guests. Again this is in the booking details on Airbnb platform. This brings us to the next issue. The hidden bathroom. This is a civil war house. It has hidden passages, doors and lots of wonderful history. We are not getting rid of its character for anything. A high light for 99 percent of our guests. ( you being the 1 percent) I'm not sure why you thought the door was heavy. It is on four wheels that take the weight, and the secretariet you refer to is, indeed full of toilet paper rolls and hand soap balls. The displayed area is secured for its safety and as a bi product our guests. On to breakfast. Yes we offer a lite complimentary breakfast to start your day. we clearly state it is laid out between 8-9.30 when we clear it away. In fact we message about breakfast several times. ( generally we clear a bit later as often people are sitting chatting together. ) We believe that is ample time to sit and eat, and if guests choose to not enjoy what is there, we feel it is their choice, maybe they want to sleep in like your wife..... We are surprised, you question us clearing away fresh milk, and cereals, the yogurts and breads. We cant leave them out to go off. This brings us to cleaning. You are right. This is an airbnb, short term rental. Not a five star hotel, or villa with a butler. Im sure as adults, you realise the difference. We dont say we are entering your room to clean. Airbnb is not what you book if you are wanting room service, nor is our price... just saying...... champagne tastes on a beer budget. We did actually know of the pigsty you were leaving us in your room, as we did message you asking where our personal iron was. We then had to go into your room, with permission, to find that you had hid it under the bed, still hot, beside the paper bag. ( not impressed) All in all, we are a home. A historic, curious, quirky old home. We ask our guests to respect it, and most do, but guests like you who dont realise they will be caught if they go through our private cupbaords and area, and held accountable are the bain of our Airbnb experience. Thankfully we love the wonderful 99 percent, who read the guidelines and descriptions and understand what we provide.
May 2017

Ingrid Tatiana User Profile
October 2017
Excellent place to stay. The hospitality from Joe and Katherine is great. I really liked to enjoy the breakfast together like a family. It is a house free of scandal and annoying noises, if you are looking a peaceful place to stay. Tks so much

Tiger User Profile
October 2017
This is a gem, particularly for folks who have a respectful appreciation for the work of home renovation that honors the story of the house itself. It might feel a little like a museum, but no doubt this is a home Joe and Katherine are putting a lot of effort into making exactly as they vision it. Especially if you stay in the Gold Room, join folks for breakfast (it will be happening just outside your door, anyway)! It's rare that you get to meet fellow travelers and hosts for an extended sit down breakfast.

Shannon User Profile
October 2017
I had a great time staying here. The location was perfect and the hosts were incredibly nice and thoughtful. I would definitely recommend their home to others.

Kaustubh User Profile
September 2017
Joe's hospitality is what sets this place apart, and that is saying something because their house itself is like a tour of some history books! We saw some 1860s newspaper articles in their living room, how cool is that!! They also had tons of information about the owners of the house and their family from centuries ago. Felt surreal at times. Their shower is the best I've ever used hands down. Not sure what it is and how it works, but it is world class. Fantastic host, fantastic house, just wish we had more time to spend in Niagara. 10/10 would recommend Joe to anyone and will go back to the place when I visit next!

Manlin User Profile
September 2017
The house is awesome but the hosts are not nice and friendly. The sheet is not clean. The hosts worked at home and made a lot of noise. When I found stains on the sheet, the host became nagging and made " this is not a hotel. This is our home." as an excuse. I travelled and reserved rooms a lot from Airbnb but I have to say that staying in Joe's home is not a good memory:( I hate to review like this but it's a truth.

This host has 450 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Niagara Falls, New York, United StatesJoined in July 2015
Joe User Profile
Life is an adventure so enjoy. Flitting around the world sharing our life with you. Happy to help your stay be as pleasant and easy as possible.
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighborhood

Similar listings