Skip to content
Private room in house

Walk to falls. Gold Room

Walk to falls. Gold Room

2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
2 shared baths
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
2 shared baths

7 minute walk to the Falls, & everything you want to see in Niagara, best restaurants, rainbow bridge & Canada. Ground floor room. Complimentary lite breakfast, welcome plate, and bottles of waters Hidden bathroom. Secret passageways. Quirky home closest to everything. This was an abandoned house that we are restoring. Living museum full of antiques and modern amenities. Please note we are renovating. It is quirky, old and we like it that way. If you want clinical modern, please book a hotel. :)

Amenities
Free parking on premises
Wifi
Indoor fireplace
Breakfast
Cable TV
Essentials
Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check-in time is 4PM - 9PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)
Cancellations

139 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Umesh User Profile
June 2017
The house is beautiful and the hosts are lovely. It's close to 3rd Street which is the restaurant street. Also falls are really at a walkable distance . you will enjoy your stay there.
Katherine User Profile
Response from Katherine:
Umesh, thank you for staying and your kind review. We are truly glad you enjoyed yourselves here. Tell your friends and come again. :))
June 2017

Jayashree User Profile
May 2017
This place is closeby to Niagara, dont prefer to walk as it is not safe 1) streets are not safe during the day and night 2) In worst case if you happen to call owner for any pickup(urgent) be ready to respond for extra payment from owners. She will definately charge extra for pic…
Katherine User Profile
Response from Katherine:
Thanks Jayashree for taking so much time to outline your concerns. Its extremely clear you never read what you were booking, which is why we ask guest to provide the code. Then its obvious that you know our house is 160 years old, being restored, is like a living museum, and that we do indeed live here with our personal belongings. This is not a hotel. Let us address some issues. Firstly as we clearly explained to you, we don't accept midnight checkins but you had ignored that and already booked, so we yielded ( our mistake) and picked you up from the airport at that time. Again we did inform you that there is no UBER, but there are taxis or us. You chose us to pick you up. And you also chose us to drive you back to airport when you checked out. The fares for this and all extra services are clearly outlined in the house rules, before you book. So there is no surprise that you were charged. We charge what we feel its worth for us to be out of bed at 1 am, waiting in a car park, when we both have to be up very early every day to look after breakfast and everyday commitments. It is totally up to all guests as to whether they wish to use us, or a taxi, or shuttle bus. At the end of the day, we arent a taxi service. It is an extra service, that guests choose to take up as they feel it makes their trip more relaxed and hassle free. I'm sorry that you were scared of Niagara Falls. Again we do mention that Niagara Falls is exceptionally poor. This is not our fault. We are part of a wave of new residents empowering and moving the city forward. In regard to you worrying about walking from your car, you didn't have one, remember, we picked you up from the airport. You are correct we do not have locks on every bedroom door, as we are sourcing the original keys for our old doors, and as this is our home and we are here, with security cameras in all public areas, nothing is going to happen to your room. Those very cameras, are what alerted us to you breaking into our black cabinet in the front parlour, and helping yourself to our wine, uninvited, and then leaving the sherry glasses (definitely not offered for use) in your bedroom. As you are aware, Airbnb were provided with these photos, when we claimed the broken lock, because it is an antique cabinet, that used to , until you broke it, have a hidden spring lock that worked. Apparently the only thing our guests need to worry about - is guests like you. which is why we have those pesky cameras. We find it sad that we need to point out again that this is our home, like most Airbnb's, everything is someone's prized possessions. It is infrequent, that we find a guest rude enough to go through our private drawers, or cabinets. For the life of me, it leaves me baffled. Just one example. In one of those little cupboards is a tea cup collection worth about a thousand dollars. And yes, I do put them out for use, and I do drink from a different one every single day. They are my joy. Why on earth would you be risking opening up my cupboards and rummaging through something like that?? Again 99 percent of guests, would not even think about it. If they needed or wanted something, they would just ask. Politeness and etiquette are not restrictions unless you have none! You also seem very concerned about children. You didn't have any, we don't have any young ones, and we actually clearly indicate that because of the type of home, filled with irreplaceable antiques, and silverware, let alone a 150 year old organ, that we do not in fact allow children as guests. Again this is in the booking details on Airbnb platform. This brings us to the next issue. The hidden bathroom. This is a civil war house. It has hidden passages, doors and lots of wonderful history. We are not getting rid of its character for anything. A high light for 99 percent of our guests. ( you being the 1 percent) I'm not sure why you thought the door was heavy. It is on four wheels that take the weight, and the secretariet you refer to is, indeed full of toilet paper rolls and hand soap balls. The displayed area is secured for its safety and as a bi product our guests. On to breakfast. Yes we offer a lite complimentary breakfast to start your day. we clearly state it is laid out between 8-9.30 when we clear it away. In fact we message about breakfast several times. ( generally we clear a bit later as often people are sitting chatting together. ) We believe that is ample time to sit and eat, and if guests choose to not enjoy what is there, we feel it is their choice, maybe they want to sleep in like your wife..... We are surprised, you question us clearing away fresh milk, and cereals, the yogurts and breads. We cant leave them out to go off. This brings us to cleaning. You are right. This is an airbnb, short term rental. Not a five star hotel, or villa with a butler. Im sure as adults, you realise the difference. We dont say we are entering your room to clean. Airbnb is not what you book if you are wanting room service, nor is our price... just saying...... champagne tastes on a beer budget. We did actually know of the pigsty you were leaving us in your room, as we did message you asking where our personal iron was. We then had to go into your room, with permission, to find that you had hid it under the bed, still hot, beside the paper bag. ( not impressed) All in all, we are a home. A historic, curious, quirky old home. We ask our guests to respect it, and most do, but guests like you who dont realise they will be caught if they go through our private cupbaords and area, and held accountable are the bain of our Airbnb experience. Thankfully we love the wonderful 99 percent, who read the guidelines and descriptions and understand what we provide.
May 2017

This was a fun and unique home to stay in. Katherine and Joe were the sweetests hosts and very accomodating. Secret bathroom was neat idea but the door was a bit hard to navigate. A perfect spot close to the falls and walking distance to the casino. We would stay again!

Jessica User Profile
October 2017
Thanks, for your wonderful hospitality. We enjoyed the breakfast, especially the table setting. Loved learning the history behind the "Aaron House". A really unique experience.

Ingrid Tatiana User Profile
October 2017
Excellent place to stay. The hospitality from Joe and Katherine is great. I really liked to enjoy the breakfast together like a family. It is a house free of scandal and annoying noises, if you are looking a peaceful place to stay. Tks so much

Tiger User Profile
October 2017
This is a gem, particularly for folks who have a respectful appreciation for the work of home renovation that honors the story of the house itself. It might feel a little like a museum, but no doubt this is a home Joe and Katherine are putting a lot of effort into making exactly …

Shannon User Profile
October 2017
I had a great time staying here. The location was perfect and the hosts were incredibly nice and thoughtful. I would definitely recommend their home to others.

Niagara Falls, New York, United StatesJoined in July 2015
Katherine User Profile
Life is an adventure so enjoy. Flitting around the world sharing our life with you. Happy to help your stay be as pleasant and easy as possible.
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

The neighborhood

Similar listings