Skip to content
Welcome to the Salmon Shanty! Door is off of the street.Hang out for coffee or wine on the deck along side of the house.  It's very private and still smells of fresh wood.
Entire house

Fort Stevens Salmon Shanty

Fort Stevens Salmon Shanty

9 guests
3 bedrooms
6 beds
2 baths
9 guests
3 bedrooms
6 beds
2 baths

The space

Located in Hammond, Oregon, just 9 miles from Astoria and 15 miles to Seaside, our Salmon Shanty is in a prime location for enjoying the best of the north coast. Walk, ride or drive to Fort Stevens and all it has to offer. Our house is located in a small neighborhood 0.2 miles from an entrance to Fort Stevens and 0.5 miles from the main entrance. Enjoy the numerous paved biking trails that meander through the park. Or take advantage of the swimming, fishing and boating on Coffenbury Lake. The wreck of the Peter Iredale, and the Pacific Ocean, is 1 mile from the house. You can go fishing off of the South Jetty or take your boat into the Columbia River. This is a perfect getaway for family or friends.

The house has 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. One bedroom has a double bed, one a queen and the third has two sets of bunk beds. There is a large kitchen with plenty of counter space for cooking and entertaining. Off of the kitchen is a full size washer and dryer for you to use. The living room has room to sprawl after a day of exploring. Watch a movie, or play a board game in comfort. For rainy days, the kids have an indoor play room stocked with toys, coloring books and more.

The yard is small, but with a 3700 acre park across the street, who cares. There is a fire pit for cooking hot dogs and making s'mores and comfortable outdoor chairs.


Free parking on premises
Indoor fireplace

House Rules

No smoking
Check-in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)
Self check-in with lockbox

150 Reviews

Check In
Angela User Profile
April 2018
We had a lovely stay. We were a bit surprised at first that the cabin was amongst other houses, but it didn't matter, the house was cozy and warm. We absolutely loved the kids playroom. They never got tired of the large assortment of toys. The beautiful state park is super close …

Launi User Profile
April 2018
We have rented from Keelin before. She is a great host and communicates back quickly. He place is conveniently located for this area. The kitchen is pretty well equipped if you are cooking during your stay. There was room for some of our kids and grand kids to come stay wit…

Dinah User Profile
March 2018
Keelin's place is just down home comfy and easy-going. My sisters and I have been going there a couple or three times a year for several years now, and just feel so at home there. The proximity of Ft. Stevens State Park and numerous beaches just adds to the greatness of the pla…

Patrice User Profile
March 2018
Great place for families. Kids had a blast. Loved the kid room. Need to go back to check out the fire ring. Thanks for a great weekend.

Christine User Profile
February 2018
We got there after a 2 hours from Pdx in the snow and that place had not been cleaned. Towels were on the bathroom floors, trash were full, beds were unmade, dirty linens still on bed, kitchen floor was disgusting, front door was jammed, dryer and washer were full, lock box was b…
Keelin User Profile
Response from Keelin:
Christine may have been confused on a couple of things......mainly the fact that I told her that this has never happened, and we can't figure out why we could not get in touch with our cleaner. She was very rude on the phone, and simply kept telling me that it was "Unacceptable". I was very apologetic because we strive to make sure every guest is happy.....but accidents....though rare, do happen. There was no reasoning with her, and that is why she was given a full ....not partial, refund. There was a number in the guest (Website hidden by Airbnb) well as the one on the Air bnb app to contact us, but she failed to mention that she called us to let us know about the issues.....FYI, our number is on the front page of the guest book, Just sayin. I told her that when I found out what had happened with our cleaner that I would call her back......she said to not bother because her weekend was already ruined. It turned out that our cleaner had been in a bad accident, and she was in the emergency room. Our cleaner was so upset that the place wasn't cleaned that she got in touch with me from the emergency room......not that it would have mattered to Christine......because that might have given her a reason to not yell at the host that had no control over the issue. Christine had the time and patience to go into every room and take pictures to send to us before she called.....with the number that did not exist :) as if more than a phone call letting us know of the issues would not be enough. It is hard to be a host 2 hours away from our rentals, and as you can see from our reviews.....we do very well at keeping everyone happy, but once in a few years we do have an issue that cannot be helped.....these things can happen to anyone......we just wish it would have happened to someone with a touch of reasoning, not someone that surely smiled when leaving her bad review.
February 2018

Josh User Profile
February 2018
For guests who have kids, the play room is fantastic. Our 1 year old played with the toy food for hours and hours. Also it has a door, along with it's own table and seating, so you can hang back there in the mornings while others are sleeping. That was the highlight of the trip.

Joy User Profile
February 2018
This was a very cute little place and very homey. Very neat and tidy.

Hosted by Keelin

Portland, Oregon, United StatesJoined in April 2010
Keelin User Profile
953 Reviews
2 References
I am a middle school teacher who loves to travel. My daughter and I enjoy traveling together and experiencing new cultures, language and trying new foods. We have been to Guatemala, Italy, Canada and Japan together. I have used Airbnb myself in Japan, Washington and Canada. In…
Languages: Español, Italiano
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

The neighborhood

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet

Similar listings