Navigate forward to access suggested results

    Payments and declined trip requests

    If your trip request expires or is declined by the Host, there’s no cost for the reservation or Airbnb service fees.

    Depending on your payment method, however, you may find a temporary authorisation (a “hold”) or a refunded charge.

    If your payment method is authorised

    Some payment methods and locations require the full amount of the reservation to be authorised at the time of your request.

    • If it’s accepted, the authorisation will become an actual charge to be deducted
    • If it’s declined or expires, the authorisation will either disappear or appear as a refund – this may take up to 7 business days, depending on your bank

    If your payment method is charged

    Some payment methods or locations require the full amount of the reservation to be charged at the time of your trip request.

    • If it’s accepted, the charge remains and your reservation is confirmed
    • If it’s declined or expires, you’ll be refunded automatically – this may take up to 10 days, depending on your bank
    Did you get the help you needed?

    Related articles